Daily devotional for 9 August 2017 – Isaiah 55:8-9

unnamed

Daily devotional for 9 August 2017 – Isaiah 55:8-9

Dear brothers and sisters,

Today I want to meditate with you on the words from Isaiah 55:8-9 (NIV):

8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD. 9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.

These verses actually gives me some rest, because it shows that God in no way expects us to be exactly as Him. Yes, He desires and wants us to actively try to become more and more to be like Him. But He also knows that we will never be able to do so. I believe that is why He inspired these verses. The first part is to make us humble and to never think that we can think for God and know that He is thinking, because I believe we have no clue. I think it is even an insult if we even remotely think that we know his thoughts.

The second part lets us know that He does on expect of us to be exactly the same as Him, because He will always be higher in any way. Know this and make it and extra reason to go to God to for praising and worshiping Him and asking for guidance.

Have a very blessed day!

Leave a Reply

